Home > About Us > School Award

School Award

Award Description of Award
School Excellence Award

The School Excellence Award recognises schools for their excellence in both education processes and outcomes. It serves as a mark of distinction for schools that have sustained achievements in a wide spectrum of student development processes.
 Best Practice Award (BPA) for Teaching & Learning

The BPA recognises schools for their effective practices and systems that lead to good education outcomes in both academic and non-academic areas. There are 3 categories for the BPA—Student All-Round Development, Staff Well-Being, and Teaching and Learning. 
 Best Practice Award for Staff Well-being

 Best Practice Award for Student All-Round Development

 Outstanding Character Development Award

The goal of education is to nurture the whole child, including his/her character. Character development is the teaching of values and social and emotional competencies. It is also about providing opportunities for students to demonstrate behaviour consistent with the values taught. 

The Development Award for Character Development recognises schools that have put in place systems and processes for the effective development of students’ character. The Outstanding Development Award for Character Development recognises schools with innovative, sustainable and exemplary approaches to character development.
 Outstanding National Education Development Award


National Education (NE) is an important part of the education process. It provides the knowledge, experience and tools for our students to know and understand Singapore, acquire a well-founded confidence about the Singaporean way of life, and critically think about how they can shape Singapore’s future.

The NE Awards recognise schools for their NE efforts. There are two levels of attainment for the NE Awards: Development Award and Outstanding Development Award. The attainment of the level of award depends on how well a school meets the evaluation criteria.  
 Partners Award (Merit)


PARTNERS Award recognises efforts made by schools in promoting and strengthening collaborative partnerships with their stakeholders such as parents, the alumni, School Advisory Committee/School Management Committee (SAC/SMC), community groups and business organisations. 
 Sustained Achievement Award Aesthetics

The Sustained Achievement Award (SAA) recognises schools’ ability in sustaining good outcomes over a number of years, in five areas: Academic Value-Added, Aesthetics, CHERISH, Sports and Uniformed Group. Schools that receive an Achievement Award in the same category over three consecutive years are awarded the SAA. 
 Sustained Lotus Award

The sustained Lotus Award is awarded to schools that have attained the Lotus Award three or more times consecutively.

The Lotus Award is awarded to schools that showcased at least one innovative environmental project; and participated in an external activity to promote Singapore’s sustainability. 
 People Developer Standard

The People Developer Standard recognises organisations that invest in their people and have a comprehensive system to manage the development of their people. 
 Singapore Quality Class
Singapore Quality Class (SQC) is the certification for the overall excellence standard. The SQC provides organisations with a holistic model for managing business excellence. It has seven dimensions of excellence, namely, Leadership, Planning, Information, People, Processes, Customers and Results.